Club yearbook

Vilnius “Statyba” was founded in 1964.

In 1965 BC “Statyba” won the title of “Žalgiris” association and finished third in the Lithuanian cup. In 1966 BC “Statyba” won the second place in Lithuanian championships and in 1967 it became the representative team of Vilnius in USSR championships. That year BC “Statyba” finished the season in 4th place.

Led by the coach and team founder Antanas Paulauskas BC “Statyba” started to form the rich history of a club that exists until this day.

Throughout the years BC “Statyba” developed many talented Lithuanian basketball players and awarded the fans of Vilnius with many titles and prizes.

In 1971 BC “Statyba” debuted in the top tier of the USSR basketball championships and joined “Zalgiris” Kaunas. From 1974 Lithuania always had 2 teams in the top tier of the USSR championships.

One of the most memorable years in BC “Statyba” history was in 1979. In that season the players of Vilnius club showed a very good performance throughout the season and beat the favorites “CSKA” Moscow. Team that was led by J.Kazlauskas, R.Girskis and A.Pavilionis surprised a lot of people when they took the third place in the USSR championships.

In 1986 BC “Statyba” had another great year because of the performance by Lithuanian basketball legend Sarunas Marciulionis.

BC “Statyba” played 16 seasons in USSR basketball championships. In 1990 Lithuanian basketball clubs exited the USSR championships due to political reasons. In the first two seasons the club of Vilnius came in 2nd in the Lithuanian league.

In 1994 BC “Statyba” took the third place in the Lithuanian basketball league.

In 1998 the club changed it’s name to BC “Lietuvos rytas” and finished second in Lithuanian basketball league.

In 1999-2000 season BC “Lietuvos rytas” became the first team to beat “Zalgiris” Kaunas in the fight for the Lithuanian basketball league title.

In the year 2000 BC “Lietuvos rytas” debuted in FIBA “SuproLeague” and didn’t disappoint. The club made the 1/8 finals.

In the 2001-2002 season BC “Lietuvos rytas” won it’s second Lithuanian basketball league title and in the “NEBL” final they beat the best team of Russia - former “Ural Great” of Perm.

BC “Lietuvos rytas” were unstoppable again in the 2005-2006 season. The club of Lithuania’s capital beat “Žalgiris” in the fight for Lithuanian basketball league title and won the BBL trophy as well.

BC “Lietuvos rytas” won it’s second BBL title in 2007 and won the local cup multiple times: 1998, 2009, 2010, 2016.

BC “Lietuvos rytas” came in second in the Lithuanian basketball league multiple times: 1999, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015. In 1998, 2014, 2016 and 2017 the club of Vilnius finished third in the Lithuanian basketball league.

The club of the capital of Lithuania won it’s most prestigious trophies in 2005 and 2009. In those years BC “Lietuvos rytas” won “7DAYS EuroCup”. In 2007 the club of Vilnius lost the finals match to “Real” Madrid but still were awarded with the chance to play in EuroLeague.

The second most successful season in EuroLeague for BC “Lietuvos rytas” came in 2007-2008. Then the club of Vilnius were first in their group, advanced to “Top 16” but failed to reach the quarterfinals. The best year in this prestigious competition for the team of Vilnius was in 2010-2011 when BC “Lietuvos rytas” was only one win short of the quarterfinals.

In 2018 the club was renamed and became "Rytas".

In 2019 King Mindaugas Cup final "Rytas" at home 70-67 won against "Zalgiris" and took the local cup.

2019-2020 season was stopped by COVID-19 pandemic and "Rytas" finished 2nd in domestic league and TOP16 stage in EuroCup.

Since the 2020-21 season "Rytas" participates in FIBA Champions league competition and finished their international season in group stage.

BC “Rytas” starts it’s 57th season and the goals remain the same - fight for the victory in every game, be loud and proud of the city of Vilnius and Lithuania.